Search This Blog

The Love of my Life <3

The Love of my Life <3

Monday, March 9, 2009

On the Edge...

This book is AMAZING. Quite simply put. I will admit that I have read this series in a rather broken pattern: one book read in the beginning of the year, then another 7 months after, which caused me not to remember the plot or characters in the story.

I found with this book, my remembrance of the characters was quick, and by the second page I could remember the story line. This is her 7 book in the Meredith Gentry series. Many believe this to be her last book in the series, but she has on last (or so I believe) titled Divine Misdemeanors.

The story begins with Meridith in the hospital, finally bearing children. She is recovering for the Rape of her Uncle. While in her room, she sees a visitor who she has not seen in years: her grandmother. After talking with her grandmother, Meridith begins to realize that something is not right. What is causing her grandmother to act in such a way, that begins to put Meridith in trouble? The men around Merry and Merry notice a thread in their grandmothers hair, which is causing her to act un-normal. They take the hair out of her grandmother's hair, and she acts a little more like herself. But something goes terribly wrong, and the spell still has a hold on her grandmother. She lashes out at Merry, but the boys protect Merry and in the end kill Merry's grandmother. Merry calls kin slayer on Cair and goes with the Wild Hunt, to right a wrong.

Along the way they uncover a plot to kill another of Merry's men: Minstral the Storm God. As they rush to save him, Merry realizes that there are too many enemies even for her. Before she can completely save the storm god, she sees one of Cels guardsmen ready to attack Merry. She calls the Wild Hunt, hoping that they will kill Olwyen - even though they are too far away. Fearing for her life, she strikes out and stabs him in the leg. That does not stop him - so then she call her hand of power and bleeds him to death.

She now has to save all her men and get out, but it is not so easy trying to leave faerie. Can she save all her men? She has already lost her Killing Frost.

This book was excellent - I absolutely could not put it down, and had to read it all. I can not wait for her final book in the series but will be saddened that it will be over!! I highly recommend it and know that you wont be disappointed.

Other books in her series include

1. Kiss of Shadows
2. Caress of Twilight
3. Seduced by Moonlight
4. Stroke of Midnight
5. Minstral's Kiss
6. A Lick of Frost
7. Swallowing Darkness
8. Divine Misdemeanors (coming out October 29, 2009!!!!)

Swallowing Darkness by Laurell K. Hamilton. Ballantine Books, New York. 2008

1 comment:

Darla D said...

This is such a gripping series. I'm glad you're enjoying it. It seems like an awfully long time to wait for the next one, though. :-(